Eagle Street Farm (44 Eagle Street, Greenpoint, Brooklyn)

The L train to the G train, just 5.32 miles from my West Village apartment, is the 60 x 100 rooftop farm that proves,  with hard work and great PR, dreams do become reality.  Boasting a scrumptious panoramic view of lower Manhattan, atop this North Greenpoint warehouse/sound stage, is an organic farm with tidy rows of greens, peppers, tomatoes, eggplants, kale, lettuce and carrots interspersed with cheerful, natural insect-battling marigolds.  Volunteers, many of them young women in flowing long skirts, lovingly tend the garden, while a few tourists and the occasional photographer wander through, careful to step between the mounded growing rows.

At center stage of this picturesque farm in the sky is a chicken coop with three gorgeous birds who garner much attention from camera-toting urban eco-tourists.  The birds aren’t the only non-plant life at Eagle Street.  There is a bee hive on the roof elevation just below the growing area, which helps pollinate the farm and make it much more productive. Living inside the warehouse are rabbits, let out on occasion to hop around and make their valuable fertilizer contribution to this most unlikely Brooklyn farm.

I am anxious to return on Sunday, November 21 to the final farm stand of 2010 to buy Brooklyn rooftop honey, veggies and herbs.  They have been lovingly grown and harvested, and have never traveled via fossil-fuel burning transportation.  In fact, I am so inspired that (if the weather cooperates) I’m going to don my new windproof gloves and ride my bike there – it seems the perfect way to transport my roof produce and honey back home.  Maybe being green is as contagious as LOOKING UP in NYC.

Next time, we’re back to the west side of Manhattan where I’ll take you to the well-hidden, largest green roof in NYC that you might well have walked past without knowing it, even if you were LOOKING UP!

22 thoughts on “Eagle Street Farm (44 Eagle Street, Greenpoint, Brooklyn)

  1. This is a great site about some relatively unexplored areas of the city. Great photos and narrative!

  2. would love a taste of those veggies and honey…please post follow-up pics and epicurean descriptions if possible…

  3. This is fabulous. I only have time to read this one now because I must type (you’ll understand of course). I’ll have to get a couple of my friends at work who like uncommon stuff to read as well. Will get back to reading again when the typing is done.

  4. OMG! You’re fabulous. I’m so happy you’re really doing it. Can’t wait to see a roof in the springtime.

  5. “Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness, and
    some have greatness thrust upon ’em.”

  6. Very nice! I have only seen rooftop gardens in the movies; lucky you! Does Cecil enjoy the gardens?

  7. I hope you can find a beautiful wicker bicycle basket to attached to your handle bars! Make sure you buy some brightly colored sunflowers to place in your basket too! I spent all week preparing my vegetable/flower garden. I had to buy bags of soil amendment because I don’t have a compost bin yet. I think the nice thing about roof top city gardens is that you don’t have to worry about the critters that eat everything in the garden such as raccoons, possum and rabbits to name only a few. You probably only have to worry about the snails. Snails are sneaky. They hide and multiply quickly. Let me know if you find a non-toxic way of getting rid of the snails. I have heard of salt, beer and tabasco. I don’t really want my garden to smell like an alcoholic drink though my friend. Cheers to you Leslie! I can’t wait to see you on one of those famous news shows.

  8. I hope the weather does, indeed, cooperate. I can think of no more fitting way to bring home roof top honey and produce than on a bike.

    Keep looking up!!!

  9. Lots of catch up reading to do but it looks like fun so I’m in.
    Miss you. Hope to visit in the spring.

  10. Thank you for sharing you terrific adventures and special “finds” in NYC! Looking Up….it’s fantastic! Enjoy every moment in NYC!

Leave a Reply

