I’m back with a Winter Rooftop for you

I’m back after a too-long blogging hiatus.

I’ve been roof exploring and writing throughout 2013, but instead of blogging, I was writing my first book: “Roof Explorer’s Guide: 101 New York City Rooftops.”

It’s full of beautiful color photographs and great information. I can’t wait to share it with you. My talented and generous art director, Arlene Bender, and her fabulous husband, Bob Aiese, are putting it all together right now. My amazing photographers are Ari Burling and Heather Shimmin (who is still working hard wrapping up a few of the last photo shoots). Rhea Alexander stepped up when I was in a pickle and helped out with photography as well. Laura Brown and George Ludwig have been enormously helpful with editing the text. What a team!

So I want to leave you with a preview from “Roof Explorer’s Guide” of a perfect rooftop for winter or summer, the City Ice Pavilion. You’re the first ones to read this!

When the New York City summer heat and humidity become unbearable, grab your parka and escape to a chilly winter wonderland. The one-of-a-kind rooftop ice rink, City Ice Pavilion is the place to cool off, have some old-fashioned fun and even get a little exercise during summer, or anytime of year.

Opened in 2008 by a hockey-loving dad who wanted a place for his kids to skate, this bubble-enclosed National Hockey League regulation-size rink dwarfs many of the outdoor winter skating options in Manhattan. At 85 by 200 feet, there is plenty of room for beginners and old pros to glide around, especially during the more sparsely attended midweek public sessions. For spectators, free bleachers are provided, but with the affordable ice-time and skate rental rates, everyone should try a spin on the ice. It is kept very cold under the bubble, so the best way to stay cozy is to keep moving on those skates. For those who choose to watch from the bleachers, make sure to bring a hat, scarf and gloves, even in summer.

While it is only a quick subway ride, plus a short walk, from Manhattan to City Ice Pavilion, the facility is built on a three-story commercial site surrounded by warehouse-type buildings. It is an area with a notable lack of pedestrians and dining choices, so be sure to have your walking directions and your brown-bag lunch in hand once you exit the subway station.

7 thoughts on “I’m back with a Winter Rooftop for you

  1. SOOO glad the New Year starts with hearing from you and such good news too! And, of course the text will be brilliant with Laura Brown going over it. Congratulations and I am so proud of you. Let me know when I can order the book!

  2. Wonderful to hear from you! Happy New Year from paradise.

    Sunrise in Kauai

    Love, Beverly & Judith

    >

  3. Good to see your blog again. As for ice skating, I think I I will have to pass, although your great 2 year old niece and her parents think it is a great adventure.

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Wow, what a team, and what a girl. Happy new year, I hope your book comes out soon, this would make 2014 a great year.

  5. Congratulations, so excited for you & can’t wait to read the bound book. But you won’t get me on the ice, especially not in warm weather…

Leave a Reply

