Bloomingdale’s is Right on Track

I’ve been searching out NYC rooftops for close to four years. I’ve been on hundreds of Gotham’s rooftops, terraces and setbacks. And I have a book coming out soon called “Roof Explorer’s Guide: 101 New York City Rooftops.” I thought I knew where the rooftops are – especially the public access rooftops (the primary focus of my upcoming niche travel guide)! But yesterday I was completely gobsmacked as I read about Le Train Bleu in Time Out New York.

Le Train Bleu at Bloomingdale's flagship store
Le Train Bleu at Bloomingdale’s flagship store

Without hesitation, I jumped on my bike and rode up there to check it out, and here’s what I found:

Tucked away discretely behind housewares, up a flight of stairs on the “sixth-and-a-half floor” of Bloomingdale’s flagship store at 59th and Lex is a restaurant kitted out like a luxury train car. It’s not on the highest roof elevation at Bloomie’s, but it is on an outdoor setback – which counts as far as I’m concerned. And what’s even more shocking is that it’s been there since 1979! photo5

There is no outdoor roof access and not much of a view, but this stylish rooftop restaurant that serves lunch and brunch primarily to Bloomingdale’s customers is absolutely worth checking out – even if just for the sake of novelty! photo7

 

3 thoughts on “Bloomingdale’s is Right on Track

  1. Totally cool! Who knew.

    How are you doing?

    I’m in the throws of finding a place in SF, excited but stressed. I think I’m doing the right thing?!

    Hope you are well.

    Much love,

    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

